Spain’s Eneko Llanos and Austria’s Lisa Hütthaler win Ironman 70.3 St. Pölten

Eneko Llanos wins the 2014 Ironman 70.3 St Pölten [photo: Josef Bollwein]

The eighth Ironman 70.3 St. Pölten in 2014 is history. It was a race which provided everything: excitement, emotions, perfect weather and of course two champions.
Eneko Llanos (ESP) won the men competition within 03:51:51. Lisa Hütthaler (AUT) was able to repeat her victory from 2013 in an impressive way within 04:17:20 hours.
Llanos finished first in front of Marino Vanhoenacker (BEL) and the austrian local hero Michael Weiss. After the swim Vanhoenacker was able to get himself a two minutes lead on the bike, which he was in until the last loop of the run. After that Llanos passed the Belgian shortly before the finishline. Right from the start Weiss had a tough race, but his performance on the runtrack made him finish on third rank.

The strong race field of the ladies was dominated by the Austrian titleholder Hütthaler, who was able to win her second Ironman 70.3 after her victory in Mallorca within two weeks. Kaisa Lethonen from Finland finished second with a time of 04:21:51, shortly before the german athlete Svenja Bazlen who crossed the finishline at 04:21:51.

Overall 1.500 athletes enjoyed a perfect race day with beautiful weather and more than 20.000 people along the race course cheering for them. The new part of the run course through the historic city center of St.Pölten, as well as the new Ironmile, were the outstanding highlights of this year’s event.

Hometown hero Lisa Hütthaler (middle) wins the 2014 Ironman 70.3 St Pölten in Austria, followed by Kaisa Lethonen (left) and Svenja Bazlen (right) [photo: Josef Bollwein]